Houston County Commissioners Meeting July 26, 2019 Warner Robins, Georgia

The Houston County Board of Commissioners met for a special called Meeting at 11:30 a.m. on Friday, July 26, 2019, at the Houston County Annex in Warner Robins, Georgia, with Chairman Stalnaker presiding and Commissioners Thomson, Walker, Robinson and McMichael present. Also present were County Attorney Tom Hall, Director of Administration Barry Holland, Director of Personnel Ken Carter, Fire/HEMA Chief Chris Stoner, Chief Building Inspector Tim Andrews, Public Buildings Superintendent Michael Phillips and Systems Administrator Eric Mitchell.

County Attorney Tom Hall led the audience in the Invocation.

Director of Administration Barry Holland led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

Chairman Stalnaker read the 2019 Tax Levy resolution and then read the 2019 Mandate Levy resolution.

Motion by Mr. McMichael, second by Mr. Walker and carried unanimously by all to authorize Chairman Stalnaker signing resolutions setting the Houston County tax levy for 2019 at 23.232 mills in the incorporated areas and 24.409 mills in the unincorporated areas, as hereby specified:

<u>Incorporated</u>

9.935 mills General County Purposes
13.297 mills Educational Purposes
0.000 mills State Levy
23.232 mills

<u>Unincorporated</u>

9.935 mills General County Purposes
13.297 mills Educational Purposes
0.000 mills State Levy
1.177 mills Fire Levy
24.409 mills

Motion by Mr. McMichael, second by Ms. Robinson and carried unanimously by all to approve the payment of the bills totaling \$2,038,765.93.

Mr. Thomson presented a request for approval of a bid on the Detention Center Chilled Water Plant Upgrade.

Motion by Mr. Thomson, second by Ms. Robinson and carried unanimously by all to approve the award of the Detention Center Chilled Water Plant Upgrade project to J.M. Clayton Company of Thomaston, GA in the amount of \$135,960. SPLOST 2012 will fund this project.

Chairman Stalnaker closed the regular portion of the meeting and opened Public Comments.

As there were no public comments, Chairman Stalnaker closed the Public Hearing and reopened the meeting.

Houston County Commissioners Meeting Continued on Page 1676

Houston County Commissioners Meeting Continued from Page 1675

Chairman Stalnaker opened the meeting for Commissioner Comments.

Chairman Stalnaker announced that the public is invited to the upcoming August 1st grounding-breaking ceremony at 9:00 a.m. for the new Lake Joy Fire Station and EMA Headquarters which will also include accommodations for an EMS ambulance crew. The project is on a fast track of nine months to completion.

Chief Stoner remarked that the new facilities will be an amazing accomplishment centralizing the fire and EMA headquarters and improving fire service to County residents. He explained that the EMA facility will also serve as a back-up for the E-911 center if necessary.

Chairman Stalnaker also mentioned that Mr. Walton Wood had expressed his appreciation for the thank you notes, and in one instance an in-person visit, from the County employees who were recently recognized for their service and subsequently photographed by Mr. Wood commemorating their accomplishments.

Mr. McMichael thanked all those involved in the budget and tax levy process. He also expressed thoughts and prayers for Sheriff Talton who is recovering from a recent illness.

Chairman Stalnaker also wished Sheriff Talton good health and commented that he was acknowledged this week as the 2019 Georgia Sheriff's Association Sheriff of the Year.

Mr. Thomson commented that the foundation for the new fiscal year had been poured with the FY20 budget and 2019 tax levy in place.

Ms. Robinson thanked everyone for attending the meeting and hoped for a good year.

Mr. Walker likewise thanked everyone for coming and thanked the County citizens for their support. He also acknowledged Sheriff Talton.

Motion to adjourn by Mr. Walker, second by Mr. Thomson and carried unanimously by all. Meeting adjourned.

Barry Holland	Chairman
Director of Administration	
	Commissioner
	Commissioner
	Commissioner
	Commissioner